Your Beautiful Purpose

Just in case I’ve never really said this before- I LOVE the privilege I have of reviewing books for Bethany House Publishers. It is the coolest little “gig,” and something that I truly relish!

Moving on…

The latest book? Your Beautiful Purpose by Susie Larson.

It is one of the BEST books I have read in a very long, long time. If you are a woman, who can sometimes, in the seeming “drudgery” of the everyday, lose sight of your purpose as a daughter of the King, READ THIS!

Recently I have felt very “on hold.” I have dreams and plans that have been indefinitely put on hold by circumstances not necessarily of my choosing. I knew, as soon as I read the foreword by Ann Voskamp, that this book was a good place to start:

“It doesn’t matter how chaotic your life is. It doesn’t matter how long you’ve been waiting, what your hope is, what your impossible prayers are.
It doesn’t matter how broken you are.
The Prince of Peace is bent beside you right now- you holding this book, because He knows- and He’s picking up all the pieces to your peace.
To make this mosaic of astonishing grace.
To piece you together for His one beautiful Purpose.
So turn the page…and breathe.”

Aaaah.  Can’t you just feel it? This book was sent to me ON PURPOSE at just the right time.

Your Beautiful Purpose starts out by making sure that each women, who is a child of God, believes that she is indeed called by Him to a specific purpose. Then Larson walks the reader through the steps of embracing her purpose, trusting God’s timing, hearing God’s voice, believing God’s Word, walking by faith, and taking on new territories for God.

The Lord is really dealing with me. Working in my heart to get me to a place of thankfulness, a place that is not envious of another woman’s “calling.” A place of expectancy and understanding that I am in this place on purpose, being trained for the next step He has for me.

It is phenomenal! Here are a few quotes I highlighted, underlined, did a little dance while reading, etc…

“If we trust God with our fears and insecurities, He’ll entrust us with a call that puts those fears to shame.”

“If Jesus has our full attention from day to day, moment to moment, He’ll get us where we need to go so that we can live out the big picture.”

“Can you honor the “Me” in her? How you steward what you see in others will determine how much I can entrust to you.” (Something the Lord spoke to Larson’s heart while she was dealing with envy toward another woman’s ministry/calling.)

“I’m happy for her. Expectant for me.”

“When life heats up, we have the choice to jump out of the refiner’s fire with our pride still intact. But here’s what’s scary about choosing that route: the pride that helps us save face will eventually be the stumbling block that makes us fall on our face.”

“God will do this work in you to the extent that you entrust yourself to Him.”

Lastly…

“Nothing is more beautiful than a strong, humble, God-fearing woman who knows who she is and Whose she is.”

Y’all. Please pick up a copy of this book. I think it is going to really speak to the hearts of so many women who need the reminder that God desires to use them in a mighty way.

I stole this prayer from the book, and it is now posted on my bedroom mirror to remind me that I am here, in this place at this time, on purpose. And to remind me to be ever moving forward in my relationship with my Father, looking expectantly for the next thing He will allow me to do for Him:

“Is His Kingdom real to you in this place?…You’re not free to go until you’re free to stay. Call on God until His power invades your reality…

Precious Lord,

I open up my hands to You and say with all my heart, You get to decide, Lord. You get to decide the how, the when, and the what for the deepest desires of my heart. Pour your Spirit out on me. Give me grit and grace to lean in and learn everything I can in this place.

Habakkuk 3:17-18

Though the fig tree should not blossom
And there be no fruit on the vines,
Though the yield of the olive should fail
And the fields produce no food,
Though the flock should be cut off from the fold
And there be no cattle in the stalls,
Yet I will exult in the Lord,
I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.”

Learning from the “Now,” while Eagerly Awaiting the “Next,”

-Me

PS- Just wanted to remind you that these opinions are all my own. Bethany House Publishers are generous enough to send me a book for free, and not require me to “like it.” Aren’t they great?

3 comments on “Your Beautiful Purpose

  1. Merri Holmes says:

    loved this!!! we all need it!!
    p.s. I want to read that book 🙂

  2. Merri Holmes says:

    P.S.S. You are Beautiful and God has a “SPECIAL” plan for you!

Leave a Reply

