Changin’ & Rearrangin’

We’ve rearranged.
Not our marital status or anything drastic like that, just our furniture.

And I may or may not be in a bit of an emotional hamster wheel because of it.
I am not anti-change by any means. I love it… in fact, I get bored without it. For some reason though, we seem to have struck a lethal combination for this mommy’s heart.

So if you want to read a ramblin’ post generally about a whole lotta nothing, come along…

First of all, we did a drastic closet cleanse. I try to do a closet cleanse every season anyway, but this one was “drastic.” As in memory t-shirts from middle school were trashed. And since I moved around several times in my middle/high school years, I really never saved much, but what I did save was very special to me. Anyway, it was time. It felt right- you know, the kind of “right” that tells you to rip off the bandaid so you can clean the wound, but you know the bandaid ripping is gonna be a beast. That kind of right.

So, emotional strike #1 leads me to this question: Anyone have any tips or experience in making t-shirt quilts? My hubby & I have somehow amassed a t-shirt collection that could rival the best of ’em… and each t-shirt was intentionally purchased as a “memory” piece, so I am trying to decide if I should attempt a t-shirt quilt myself, or have someone else do it?

Emotional strike #2 was that we removed all of our Christmas decor, which led to a living room rearrangement. My mommy heart melted into a puddle on the floor when our boy asked where “da tis-mas chree go?” Oy… Anyway, he’s moved on, and I am still working on it. So with the rearrangement came a desire for an 8×10 living room area rug.

Is a rug over wall to wall carpet still completely socially unacceptable? I know at one point, it was a faux-pas, but I REALLY want some color in our living room, don’t want to paint walls, and can’t afford to redo the floors (plus we don’t own the house,) so… rug maybe? Check out this photo from houzz.com…it’s pretty classy if you ask me- and very warm and cozy (I would just prefer to have my rug grounded beneath the furniture in the arrangement:)

And… the worst strike of them all? We removed E’s changing table from his bedroom. I know, I know, I am like a year (or more) overdue on that change. Heck, our boy was so long, we haven’t actually changed him on that table since he was about 8 months old… it was just so sentimental. He sleeps in a big boy bed, so I guess I was just clinging to the changing table…the last piece of “baby” in his room.

Oh my lands.

New Year, New Emotions.

Feel free to chime in with your best ideas on t-shirt quilts, area rugs, and ways for whiny mothers to get over it! 🙂

Phew. Glad that’s over.

6 comments on “Changin’ & Rearrangin’

  1. Megan M. says:

    OOoooh!! I love that rug! And I have a collection of t-shirts waiting to be made into a t-shirt quilt. So you should come over here and have a project day with me!

  2. Anna says:

    I actually love the rug idea, even on carpet. I have been tossing around the idea myself, perhaps for our music room. I hesitated because we have wall-to-wall carpet too, but if you do it, maybe I will get over the “old” rule! 🙂

    I hear you on the changing table thing. We just switched out Eden’s and it was bittersweet. 😦 The only difference is she is 3 and still fits on it, haha! She is potty trained now though so it was definitely time to change things.

    Change is good – just takes some adjusting sometimes. 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    Check out my Pinterest page. I have a couple t-shirt quilt ‘how-to’s’ pinned.

    • Heidi says:

      Will do! I have pinned some too, just not sure if it’s a project I would be able to tackle! Have you ever made one before?
      thanks for reading!
      -Heidi

  4. Sheryl says:

    Change, no matter how big or small, is due to upset an emotion or two. Just ride the wave.

    T-shirt quilts–easy peasyish. You’ll need pellon that has the iron on-sticky side. I’m sure it has an official name, but that’s a good one. Cut your t-shirts how you want . . . front, back, just the important part, the whole front or back. Then iron them on to the pellon. That makes them stiff enough to sew without dealing with the stretchy quality of a T-shirt. I think it would also work with sports jerseys should there be any in the mix.

    Anyway, then you can either sew them together end to end and side by side OR you can put sashing between each one to make them a similar width and add some color and a frame to each one. That’s the basics.

    As for the rug—I’m not sure. Yes, it adds color. I have a very small living room and dining space and very light carpet. I had a rug over the carpet in each area for years. This summer when I cleaned the carpets I took them up. The one in the dining area is going back, but the one in the living room is staying out. It makes the space seem larger without it. At least for now.

    And that’s my 2 cents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

