He Breathes Peace

At the very core of me, I am a writer. Words swirl in my mind…every funny moment, every tear, every mistake or victory plays over and over in my mind, waiting to have it’s script written for others to read. That’s how I think and process.

And sometimes that requires a lot of mulling. Mulling and deciding what to write down- what is painful or helpful, wrong or right, beneficial or detrimental, fluff or necessity.

I try to wait- because a lot of times, the words that come to me first are, in fact, NOT the best words.

Right now, I can’t stop mulling.

There are so many things I want to say in light of the recent school shooting in Connecticut… none of it is enough. That much I know.

None of my words will bring their loved ones back.

None of my words will fill the empy seats at more than 20 heartbroken family dinners.

None of my words will stop the awful sounds that will forever echo in the hallways of that precious school.

None of my words will erase the pictures that are etched in the young minds of the surviving children.

So I won’t try.

What I am instead going to do is bathe them in prayers- prayers for salvation of the lost, encouragement for the saved, and strength for a frightened community.

Out of respect, I am choosing not to participate in gun debates, or reminders of tragedies worldwide, but just to give them the space and time they need. We never know how far our comments will resonate…I pray that these dear families don’t see some of the ugliness I have seen.

Let them grieve. Let them be.

Lift them in your prayers to the only One whose words can breathe peace into their lives, and healing to their hearts. Let Him do the work He has promised to do.

 

 

 

One comment on “He Breathes Peace

  1. Merri Holmes says:

    Thank you, Heidi…..well said.

Leave a Reply

