Putting the Mod in Podge

I’m on a little bit of a “prove it to me Pinterest” roll. I can pin 1000 things, but they will do me NO good if they sit on Pinterest, and I never try them out. So I figured I’d share one of my most recent projects with you- later 🙂

First things first though… the project I’ll share with you later required Mod Podge. When I went to buy Mod Podge, I was a little surprised at the cost. I was completely on a budget for this project, so back to Pinterest I went. After doing some research from friends as well as on the internet, I landed on this site via Pinterest, and a “recipe” if you want to call it that, for homemade decoupage/adhesive medium (image below is from the site linked above.)

Pinned Image

The recipe? Equal parts: Elmer’s School Glue & Water. Shake well in a glass jar.

Umm, even I can handle that!

So I bought two bottles of Elmer’s School Glue, cleaned an old glass salsa jar out, and turned on my sink faucet. Seriously.

In went the glue and an equal amount of water. I shook it to death. And it worked like a charm! I am so excited to show you what I used it for! Come back later to find out 🙂

Total cost for this project: $1.00

The glue was $0.50/bottle. I didn’t even come close to using it all for this one project though, so technically, I could’ve probably gotten by on just one bottle of glue! A great cost-saver when compared to Mod Podge.

Successful Pin!

 

3 comments on “Putting the Mod in Podge

  1. Donna says:

    Hey Heidi!
    I was inspired by your hidden storage post. I need to try that on my laundry utility sink. It is so ugly (plain white fiberglass on plastic legs)and it is right by the kitchen door so you see it when you walk in unless the laundry room door is closed. I, of course, like to keep the door open, so I needed a fix for that.
    Hope all is well in your world & in the library.
    Love you,
    Aunt Donna Jane

  2. […] this is your first time visiting here today, check out this post, then come […]

Leave a Reply

