Scare Tactic?

Recently a friend posed a question on facebook. He wasn’t meaning to take sides, he was really just asking. His question was this (in my words:) Would the people who own and carry guns actually use them on a criminal, or is it just an expensive scare tactic?

Let me tell you a little story…

It was the middle of the night. I heard a loud noise and woke up. I walked, in my pajamas, up to the front of the house. What I saw that night, I had never seen before, and I’ve never seen since.

There, at the front window, stood my Dad- my kind, gentle Dad. 

I heard him shout at our night guard, telling him NOT to open the gate, no matter what.

He was holding a gun. Pointing it straight at the front gate.

He quickly turned around and told me to go back to the back of the house.

I obeyed.

You see, our city was in unrest. As a 14 year old, I had heard enough of the stories to know why my Dad stood there the way he did. Rebel thieves, wanting to overtake the city, were looting homes in search of anything they could use as weaponry, or sell for money. In our neighborhood alone, I had heard of guards being killed…tied to boards, having their necks broken. I had heard of thieves throwing poisoned meat over walls & gates, to poison guard dogs thus keeping them from being able to alert their owners to a break-in.

I had heard of families being trained on what to do should their homes be invaded. We were told to give them money, etc. to keep them happy. We were told to sit quietly and not make any sudden movements that might cause them to pull their triggers hastily. I used to wake up in nightsweats from nightmares. I would dream of how I could convince those rebels to take me instead of my young sisters, not being able to even stomach the thought of them being violated by those men.

There was nothing pretty about it.

That’s why my Dad stood there with a gun. He knew that his loves, his wife and daughters, were in danger. And his gun, while it probably wouldn’t have killed a person, was much more than a scare tactic. It was a tool. A tool to protect the ones he loved.

So here’s my answer: Yes, I would use a gun, if my loves were in danger. There is nothing more important to me than my husband and son. I would use any tool that I had at my disposal to keep them from being hurt.

Wouldn’t anyone?

I guess not, or it wouldn’t be such a debate.

The way I see it, our nation is in a state of unrest. How else can a movie theater shooting that claims innocent lives be explained? People are brazen, bold, and completely unconcerned about the souls and lives of others.

So, in my humble opinion, I’d say there’s never been a better time for cautious, safe, concerned citizens to exercise their right to bear arms. Not to abuse it, but to be brave enough to use it should the need arise.

5 comments on “Scare Tactic?

  1. Megan Mattinson says:

    Heidi, I can barely even read this. I didn’t know those stories. My heart still aches when I think about what you guys went through, but I know God was shaping you into the beautiful (inside and out) woman you are today. Love you! (And don’t break into my house because we will shoot.)

    • Heidi says:

      Thanks, Sis. I guess we didn’t talk about a lot of it. And don’t worry, I gave up breaking and entering a long time ago 🙂 Love you too!

  2. Merri Holmes says:

    Thanks for sharing that moment from your prospective Heidi….I didn’t even remember that you woke up, but what a night it was. I was on crutches from that broken bone in my foot. I remember hobbling all the way in there, standing behind him, encouraging him to be careful….but hoping he would shoot if they were coming in to hurt us!! I had cold chills all over me, and I’m sure he did too, but he was our brave hero that night…..keeping us safe! God was watching over us too 🙂

  3. I don’t know how I missed this, but reading it just now made me cry. I didn’t go through the same torturous thoughts that you did… until many years after we left when I was old enough to really understand. Thanks for not seeming scared when we were out there, though. As any little sister would, I often took my cue from you, so I’m sure it helped that you just laid around and played games and puzzles with me and Katie all week 🙂

    • Heidi says:

      You are welcome, sis 🙂 I always think the same way of Mom & Dad. If I was that afraid, how much more must they have known, yet kept from us to keep us from worrying. God brought us all through, stronger, I believe! Love ya- but will NEVER play the muppets PlayStation game ever, ever again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

