I pin it to win it…

…your affection that is.

I’m of the old breed that believes that the way to a person’s heart, not just a man, is through their stomach. So picture me frantically worming my way in there with some delish recipes. 🙂

Pinterest has delivered me with some all-time low recipes, but also some all-time highs, and this week we have had the joy of taste-testing two of the best recipes I have ever gotten off of the internet. One at a time though…

First things first- the best “fake-out take-out” Chinese meal I’ve ever made.

And I have tried to replicate a lot of Chinese take-out restaurant style meals. Most have turned out moderately to seriously unsuccessful. There’s just something missing. (Perhaps a literal ton of grease.)

So I skeptically pinned this recipe for “Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken” the other day…. I pined over it, but didn’t get my hopes up.

Then I took the plunge- I made it.

An boy oh boy, it was so good. We decided that if we served this at home with some egg rolls and homemade fried rice, we could easily fool guests and tell them we picked up take-out.

Try it. You’ll thank me for it, and I’ll weasel right into that heart, er stomach, of yours. 🙂

*I’d say it’s more of a “sesame chicken,” but the original recipe called it sweet and sour*
The chicken coating:
 3-4 boneless chicken breasts
salt + pepper
1 cup cornstarch
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup canola oil
The sweet and sour sauce:
 3/4 cup sugar
4 tbs ketchup
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1 tbs soy sauce
1 tsp garlic salt
Start by preheating your oven to 325°. Rinse your chicken breasts in water and then cut into cubes. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Dip chicken into the cornstarch to coat, then dip into the eggs.  Heat your 1/4 cup oil in a large skillet and cook your chicken until browned but not cooked through. Place the chicken in a 9×13 greased baking dish. Mix all of your sweet and sour sauce ingredients in a bowl with a whisk and then pour evenly over the chicken. Bake for one hour, turning the chicken every 15 minutes.
As usual, I halved this recipe and it turned out just perfect for the 3 of us. Also, we served it over white rice 🙂
Enjoy!
*Recipe & Photo from this post on “Life as a Lofthouse”*
One comment on “I pin it to win it…

  1. […] long while ago, in this post, I promised to share 2 recipes with you. Two really good recipes. I shared one… and […]

Leave a Reply

