SOS

A few days ago, I posted on facebook about an irrational fear of mine…

I let my guard down,

I wasn’t too embarrassed to be honest,

I trusted you all ๐Ÿ™‚

And you didn’t disappoint!

I admitted to being afraid to use the restroom before checking the toilet for baby alligators. I know that there are other, potentially more logical things, like spiders or snakes, that could be living in my toilet bowl.

But those aren’t the things I think of when I walk into the dark bathroom…

Nope.

I can be dancing around in circles, having to go so badly, but I will STILL check the toilet bowl.

Because, I tell you, there could very easily be a baby alligator lurking in those waters. A hungry one…andย we both know where that leads. Ouch!

So, here’s my SOS:

Where did this fear come from? I feel like I vaguely remember a movie or news story or something from my childhood that could somehow justify this fear. Like a city had a problem with alligators in the sewer system or something?

Please tell me you’ve heard of this.

I mean, not that it’s really going to help per se, because it will only make me check the toilet more vigorously… but at least it would help me not feel so weird!

So tell me- what do you check the bowl for? Be honest! Some friends said they check for spiders & snakes- but there must be some more irrational toilet bowl fears out there! Or is there really a root to this alligator fear of mine?

Can you tell I really want someone to empathize with me?

Help a sista’ out!

Goodnight, that’s all ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments on “SOS

  1. Megan Mattinson says:

    Well, I probably shouldn’t tell you this, but I heard an urban legend about something in a toilet once. Story goes that a med student wanted to haze his roommate, so he got a hand from a cadaver and put it in the toilet, fingers up. The roommate went in to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and sat on the toilet. The shock of the “proctology exam” scared him so much that his hair immediately turned completely white. There ya go.

Leave a Reply

