Amendment One

In case you live under a rock, or on a deserted island, yet still have access to this blog, I thought I’d give you a heads up: North Carolina just voted in an amendment meant to qualify marriage as a union between one man and one woman.

I’ve struggled for over a week with this post. I’ve thought of many things I wanted to shout from the mountaintops, and I’ve read many things that made me want to crawl in a hole somewhere.

I voted for this Amendment. If you read my blog at all, you shouldn’t be surprised. I don’t make decisions like that based on emotion, or political sway. I made that decision because I believe, to the very core of my being, that my God, the God who has mightily changed my life, has already defined marriage as being between one man and one woman, so my definition ought to match His.

I have read many posts, statuses, and angry comments from proponents of both sides. I’ve read very few objective, kind articles. And truthfully, I am not concerned about writing a “kind” post. I want to write an honest post. God’s Word is divisive.

I battled for a long time over what words, of the thousands that seemed to swarm in my head for days and days, were worthy of being shared. Then tonight, I saw the quote that answered it for me.

“May we be consumed with the Creator of all things, rather than with things created.”

You see, sin is sin.

Idolatry is sin.

Anything that I place before my God is idolatry.

If I place my relationship with my husband before my relationship with my Savior, then I am sinning.

If I love my son more deeply than the God who created me, then I am sinning.

Homosexuality is another form of idolatry- placing a relationship before the desires of your Creator for your life.

There is no sin less sinful than another sin.

Christ died for all sins- for the sin of homosexuality, as much as my sins- which are many.

My life has afforded me the opportunity to work with and to know people of many different backgrounds and marital choices. I have loved these people, and have called these people friends. Because they are people, who deserve to be respected, and people to whom I am called to be the hands and feet of Jesus. I cannot touch them with hatred. It can’t be done.

I realize that the political arena has no intention of being gentle or kind. But I pray that those who are believers, will be.

Speak in love, and remember to be consumed with your Creator.

MY Creator who died for my lying, cheating, stealing, disrespectful, sexually immoral, filthy life. Because at the core if it all, that describes us all, doesn’t it?

Even our best amounts to dirty rags.

 

One comment on “Amendment One

  1. sherylo says:

    Well said. (Again). Responding to the person in front of you with love doesn’t condone their choices, it validates God’s creation. Legislation may represent someone’s opinion or desire, but it is not the same as that person.

Leave a Reply

