Is Anyone Hungary?

For some Hungarian Goulash, that is!

Oh my word. I can’t help myself.

I know that’s a terrible pun, but if you heard the other ten options I tossed around in my head, you’d be thankful I went with that one.

It’s a sickness, I tell you.

Anyway, on with it.

A dear co-worker and friend of mine, from several years ago, shared this recipe with me. And just like many recipes I receive, it was lovingly stashed in a drawer, basket, or box full of many other “to try” recipes, and forgotten. What a mistake!

This is a warm, simple, throw it in the crockpot and forget about it kind of meal. There aren’t layers and layers of ingredients, and I must admit, because of that, I was skeptical. I figured it’d be boring. I was wrong!

Very tasty- hope you try it and love it!

*The recipe calls for stew beef meat. However, there was a great sale on pork shoulders at our grocery store a few weeks ago, so that’s what I had in my freezer. I cut it up into 1 inch pieces just like the recipe said, and it worked so well that my husband recommended that we never try the stew beef! We’ll see 🙂 If you try it out, let me know! Also, I only did half of this recipe, so the cooking time was significantly shorter (several hours.) Just keep an eye on it.

Hungarian Goulash

2 lbs. beef stew meat (or pork) cut into 1″ cubes

1 lrg. onion cut up

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup Ketchup

2 T Worcestershire sauce

1 T brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. dry mustard

1 c. water

Place meat in slow cooker. Cover with onion. Combine the rest of the ingredients and pour over meat. Cover and cook on low 9-10 hours. Then turn crock pot on high. In a separate bowl, combine 1/4 cup flour with some cold water and shake to dissolve the flour. Add this mixture to the crock-pot, and cook for another 10-15 minutes, until sauce is thickened.

Serve over rice or noodles (we’re rice people, so we went with rice!)

 

 

2 comments on “Is Anyone Hungary?

  1. Anna says:

    Sounds yummy! Added to my to try list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

