Braggin’ Rights

Can I just brag on my God for a little while? You don’t have to read it, if you are a spoil sport-  I just can’t help but share it though!

When Nathan & I made our recent job transition, our income decreased. So literally, every dollar counts. Every dollar counts for more than I ever thought a dollar could count!

And I am a budget diva. I watch the dollars- I am willingly in charge of our finances. I enjoy writing checks, marking off each paid bill, and the thrill of seeing a bank account that is just full enough to meet our needs each month.

But then today- and don’t ask me how it happened, because I scrutinize every bill and document we get!!- we received our updated car insurance cards. And guess who wasn’t on there…and had NOT been on there for the nearly 5 years we’ve been married. If you guessed me, you’d be right! I was an uninsured driver, completely by accident, for almost 5 years.

I was devastated. Immediately, I thought of all of the times that I had my sweet boy in the back of the car, uninsured. I try so hard to be responsible and prepared, and I felt so humbled.

So, with fear and trepidation, I told my husband. I knew we needed to insure me as a driver, but, I also knew the extent of our budget tightness…and I, in my human mind, couldn’t figure out how we could afford to add more to our insurance policy.

I kept asking, “Why now, God? Things are so tight now. We’re trying to do what you want us to. Why now?”

Long story short (or atleast a tad bit more concise 😉 )Nathan called our company, and thanks to a great God, after adding me and qualifying for the “married couple” discount, our policy is now costing us LESS than it was before.

So the answer to “Why now?” was that the Lord knew we would need those few extra dollars each month NOW. And he, in His goodness, kept me safe for almost 5 years.

Maybe it’s not the way I thought I wanted it to all go…but I have to admit, His way was MUCH cooler. 🙂

 

 

3 comments on “Braggin’ Rights

  1. sherylo says:

    That is SO cool!!!!

  2. Merri Holmes says:

    What a mighty AWESOME God we serve!!!!

Leave a Reply

