Genetic?

One of the top pieces of advice given to me while seriously dating and engaged to my husband was this: Understand that the little things your boyfriend/fiance’ does that bother you won’t magically disappear after marriage- they’ll become more annoying, and you will have to learn to work through them.

It is true. Little things that bother you when you see a person every now and then are definitely magnified when you LIVE with that person.

However, I still think they (the every forthcoming advice givers) got it wrong.

What they should have said is: Just so you know, those annoying things that your spouse does, your children will one day do those same things, and it will annoy you 100 times worse.

That would have been helpful advice to know.

Somehow my son, dearly loved and adored as he is, picked up what are probably two of the most annoying habits of my, dearly loved and adored, husband.

I can hear it from a mile away. It sends chills down my spine, and makes me cringe. The clicking sound of nails on teeth. Oh the nail-biters… My husband is a nail-biter, and it used to drive me crazy. I don’t even have to be in the same room to hear it, to recognize that sound, and to kindly offer to fetch him the nail clippers- which he somehow never needs! But for the past few months, there has been a smaller “click, click, click” in this house. A miniature nail-biter has been born, and this mama may just lose it. Pray for me.

If you’ve never been woken up in the middle of the night to the sound of throat-scratching, count your blessings. It’s an awful, gut-wrenching, scratchy, terrible sound. My husband’s allergies make his throat itch, and throughout his life, he has developed this “throat-scratching” that gives him some relief. I had never heard anyone that had this skill (loosely coined term…) so down pat. I always offer some water or a lozenge, but those just don’t do the trick like the special throat-scratch…but lest I should think this skill would die with my husband one day, a miniature throat-scratcher has emerged. Yep, Lije does that too.

BOTH?

He does TWO of the top most annoying habits possible?

Ok, so I’m dramatic.

I’ll get over it…possibly with gray hair and nerves that are shot.

I haven’t gotten up the nerve to ask my husband which annoying things our son got from me. I’m sure there are none! 🙂

 

2 comments on “Genetic?

  1. Merri Holmes says:

    Nah…we couldn’t possibly have any annoying things on our side of the family! HA HA 🙂

Leave a Reply

