March Madness. Makes me mad.

I love my son very much. I could kiss his little toes every second of every day. I just sit and watch him with a smile on my face. I would do anything to keep him safe.

You know how when you chop garlic, the next day it literally “eeks” out of your pores, and all day long you smell like a garlic clove?

The love I have for Elijah literally eeks out of me. I try not to, but I feel like at any given moment, I can just gush on and on about him. 

He means that much to me.

However, the love that I have for him doesn’t cause me to bash other children. I don’t get on facebook to see pictures of my friends’ children so I can say how ugly they are, and how they can never compare to MY son. I don’t sit around all day and fume when things go right for my friends’ children. If another baby begins to speak before Elijah, I don’t go on an angry tirade over how much I HATE that child for being successful.

<Enter College Basketball>

It’s March, folks.

Have a little class.

Be a fan. LOVE your team. Cheer with all of your might FOR your team.

But get a grip. Being a fan of my team, much like my being a fan of my child, does not entitle me to bash, demean, or otherwise minimize the accomplishments of another team.

In this house, we love the UNC Tarheels. I mean like, we are flag-waving, stop-everything-and-watch-the-game fans (we may or may not have scheduled a certain person’s naptime around a game today… don’t judge.)

My husband is the fan of fans for UNC. He knows more about those ball players, and that program than may be healthy. He is a model fan. And although his blood boils at the sight of another certain shade of blue, you will NEVER, I mean NEVER, see him walk up to a fan of that shade of blue and shove their noses into a loss.

That is NOT classy.

If your team does well throughout this Madness known as March, then congratulations. Win with class.

If your team does poorly, I am sorry. That’s a risk you take as a fan. Lose with class.  And leave everyone else’s teams out of it.

Because trust me, we aren’t judging your “fan-hood” by the amount of nasty comments you can make about other teams.

2 comments on “March Madness. Makes me mad.

  1. Taylor says:

    Amen! The other day I got so many texts after “the other shade of blue” lost. I might have to read this post to my students.

Leave a Reply

