My Day

“Elijah, do you want some fruit?”

“no”

“Elijah, do you want Mommy to take the fruit away?”

“no”

“Elijah, do you want to go for a walk with Mommy?”

“yes.”

“Ok, let’s go!”

“no.”

“Elijah, can Mommy have a kiss?”

“no”

“Elijah, do you want to take your ball to the school with you?”

“yes.”

“Ok, pick it up and carry it.”

“no.”

“Elijah, do you want to play with Thomas?”

“yes.”

“Here you go, buddy!”

“no.”

Seriously. All. Day. Long.

Tell me you have days like that. Please.

In the little man’s defense, he has a sty on his eye, and he hasn’t felt the BEST, but really?

Then at bedtime, we had a glimmer of hope. A faint promise that my sweet boy was still in there somewhere, albeit deep, deep down inside.

After rocking for a few minutes, Elijah picked his head up off my chest. He turned around, pointed to his crib and said,

“Der, Der” (aka “there.”)

“Elijah, do you want to get in your bed now?”

“yes.”

“Ok, I love you. Good night.”

What a great finale. The Lord knew I needed that sweet moment. I never knew that a 4 sentence conversation could mean so much…

 

 

 

2 comments on “My Day

  1. Merri Holmes says:

    I love that little boy!!! That was too sweet! (If you would teach him some more words, maybe your conversations would be longer too…) 🙂

Leave a Reply

