The Family Meal

If I were a single mom, I’d be one of two things:

Extremely thin or Incredibly Fat.

Why?

Because when Nathan is gone, I refuse to cook. Cooking for one is annoying (and Lije doesn’t quite count yet, because he doesn’t eat as much as an adult.) So we either very rarely “pick something up,” or I just don’t eat. I always get something together for Lije, but I just will not take the time to cook for myself. It’s a waste of time and a clean kitchen.

Thus, if I were single, I’d be huge from fast food, or too thin from laziness.

So, tonight is monumental for many reasons. My hubs coached his last game of the season tonight. Woo to the Hoo! I am thrilled! We will have afternoons back, we will have evenings back, we will have weekends back, and we will have family mealtimes back.

It’s a beautiful thing!

I am so proud of Nathan. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again. He is an excellent coach. He says “Jump!” and his players literally ask, “How high?” They love him- and there’s no question why. He loves them. I know that he is already planning next season, and that the sketching of plays and options won’t actually stop. I am just thrilled that he can now do those things on the couch at home, and not in a gym an hour away.

I am so thankful for my husband- so thankful for the passion he has for his job- so thankful to have him home more for a while- so thankful for a chance to have some nice family meals.

What do you cook/eat when it’s just you? Give me some ideas for next season 🙂

10 comments on “The Family Meal

  1. Sarah L. says:

    I don’t cook for myself when Lester is gone either. His busy season at work is from January – March. During that time he is usually only home to eat with me 2x every week. I’ve become an expert at creating new smoothies, grilled cheese sandwiches, and fruit/oatmeal concoctions. Cereal is always a great option too! 🙂

  2. Taylor says:

    Since Spring 2009, I have coached 7 straight sport seasons with a total of 11 teams. Be thankful Nate hasn’t done that! Lol

  3. Sarah says:

    Ah, I can totally relate. When Gates is working late, or is out of town – I fix Avery something, then I either a) don’t eat either or b) lean cuisine or frozen pizza! We sometimes venture out for Chic-fil-a, but usually the pizza wins!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I am SO guilty of not cooking well for myself. I’m trying very hard to discipline myself to make meals every night that I eat, as well as the boys. When I go too long without doing that, I have definite decline in my health. The worst is getting home late from something and having to choose between resting because I’m exhausted and eating because I’m starving. One thing that is helpful is to make a huge meal and have left-overs for a while. And always fresh fruit that you can just grab and eat without having to prep. Also, cooking the meal right after lunch, before the sheer exhaustion part of the day hits me. A few coping techniques… 😉

    • Heidi says:

      I am sure it only gets harder with more kids! I definitely love left-overs because Nathan doesn’t like to eat leftovers, so I can cook on the nights he’s actually here to eat, then I get to eat leftovers when he’s gone! Good idea to cook right after lunch! Coping is definitely the name of the game! lol
      Thanks for reading 🙂
      -Heidi

Leave a Reply

