Easier Blogged than Done.

This morning Elijah & I had to make a run “into town.” I am planning this year’s Junior/Senior Banquet at the school where the hubs & I work, and I needed a few small items from Hobby Lobby (shh…can you hear the angels singing at the mention of those words Hobby Lobby? I could live in there… seriously. But what is with the signs that say “30% off ALWAYS…” Why not just dock the price permanently? Oh well, who am I to complain about a sale?)

I digress.

Anyway, we were sitting at a pretty prominent stoplight, waiting to turn left into the parking lot for Hobby Lobby. Elijah and I were singing away to our Selah CD, having a grand old time- complete with goldfish, because all good times are.

Then I noticed it. The SUV in front of me had a couple of stickers on the rear window. One was a Jesus sticker, and the other was a set of those “family member” stickers, one per person. In the middle of the stickers was the verse “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” 

I immediately got that kindred spirit feeling- like you know, the “we’re working toward the common goal of sharing our Lord with others” feeling.

It lasted a few seconds.

Then that SUV turned left on red, a red arrow at a large intersection to be exact.

There may have been an emergency, and it may have been a mistake. But you see, I don’t need to be persuaded of the excellence of the Lord. I believe it. I’ve watched Him lead my family for generations, and He is just as faithful to my family of 3, as He was to my Grandparents, and their Grandparents.

However, it might not have been me sitting behind that vehicle. It could very likely have been a cynic, just looking for another reason to believe that Christ isn’t all He’s cracked up to be. And there it was. A person whose household was so blatantly determined to serve that Lord, that they pasted it on their vehicle, and publicly broke a law.

Thus the title of this post.

It’s so easy to write about these things, to type a few words and feel as if I’ve “done my part.” But the real witness is in the living. The world is full of people who are looking for there to be a distinct difference in Believers- and shouldn’t there be? We’ve been changed, from the inside out. I believe that change extends all the way to our willingness to obey even traffic laws.

People are watching.

It was a challenge to me to remember that my “walk talks louder than my talk talks.” Yeah, I said it, and it probably took you back to Junior High, didn’t it? But it’s so true.

 

Leave a Reply

