Band-Aids & Love

The other night, something happened with my husband that really hurt me. He did nothing wrong. In fact he had tried very hard to do something right, to make me feel special.

But somehow, my female brain vastly misinterpreted his gesture.

I mean vastly.

I was hurt and frustrated.

Now if you know my husband at all, you know that he says few words and sincerely means every one of them. He is an excellent teacher and coach because he means every word that he says-

No fluff,

No broken promises,

Nothing extra- Just the bones.

Well, when you are a sensitive woman, looking for a hug and some attention, a man of few words can be quite the parade-rainer. He kissed me on the forehead and said he loved me.

That was it.

Can you believe it? He didn’t pat the seat next to him, tell me to sit down, put his arm around me, or even ask if I’d like to talk about what was bothering me.

Duh.

He’s a man.

Well, that only irritated me more. In my frustation, I figured that since he was the one that had caused me to feel the way I did, the least he could do was to fix it. So I asked him why he didn’t have anything else to say.

He kissed my forehead again and said, “I already told you… I love you. I didn’t do that to hurt you.”

I walked into the bathroom and muttered, “That’s great, but love’s not a band-aid.”

In my mind, I never doubted that he loved me- I never have. Not since the first day he told me- on Valentine’s Day, 2006. That was not the issue at hand.

The issue was my selfishness.

No sooner had those words popped out of my mouth, than these popped into my mind, “…love covers all things.” Love covers all. Not talking, not working things out, not anything else.

Love.

1 Peter 4:8 Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins.

This verse really goes much deeper than hurt feelings- it covers sins even from before salvation that love allows a person to forgive. It also doesn’t imply that “all we need is love.”  We need salvation, regeneration- a new heart that grows in grace daily.

But I believe that if love is strong enough to cover multitudes of sin, then quite surely it can cover a hurting heart…

I am thankful for a husband whose love is fervent for me. As it turns out, every now and then, I do need a band-aid.

Leave a Reply

