Grand Finale

AKA:

Afternoon snack,

Dessert after dinner,

Or breakfast the next day.

This recipe was equally satisfying for all three occasions. I would know.

I don’t make a lot of muffins from scratch because, let’s face it, Betty Crocker has it pretty well figured out. For 99¢, plus a little milk, you can have warm fresh-out-of-the-oven muffins in a variety of flavors in just a few minutes time, with minimal effort.

But when Food Gawker introduced me to this recipe, I literally couldn’t get the image out of my mind. I thought about it for an entire day… I dreamed about it, I talked about it, I drooled a little. Ok, that’s a bit exaggerated, but honestly, it just looked and sounded SO good, I knew I had to make it!

Again, not disappointed. It was well worth the little extra work to produce this home-made, fluffy, light, airy, as Food Gawker says “melt in your mouth” muffin. It was also the perfect sized recipe for our little family- it made 8 muffins- perfect for 2 adults and a pint-sized muffin-eater 🙂 .

The author who originally posted this on her blog says she doesn’t know why it is called a “French” muffin, but after tasting it, I would have to say I believe it is because the flavors resemble a beignet rolled in cinnamon/sugar. It’s just an incredibly light, fluffy, un-fried beignet.

All of that to say- you must try it! MUST, I say.

French Breakfast Muffins

1/3 c. butter, melted
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg (room temperature)
1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. milk

Topping (I only used about 1/2 of this when all was said and done…)
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350° F.

In a medium-large bowl, sift together all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and stir until combined, but still a bit lumpy. Don’t overmix. Scoop batter into muffin tins that have been sprayed with cooking spray. I got 8 medium-large muffins out of this batter. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until they just start to turn a bit golden at the edges.

For the topping, mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Place melted butter in another small bowl. Dip the warm muffins in melted butter- the WHOLE muffin, people… don’t be dainty about it. Then roll the muffin in cinnamon sugar.

PS-If you, like me, are a nutmeg-hater, go ahead and add it anyway. I promise it didn’t taste nutmeg-y…it just enhanced the cinnamon. Also, don’t skip the sifting of the dry ingredients. I hate sifting (I think it stems from having to sift bugs out of African flour…I despise it) But it is ESSENTIAL to the airiness of these muffins- so do it, even if you mutter my name angrily under your breath the whole time 🙂

Enjoy!

(Photo is mine, recipe from Velvet Lava)

 

 

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

