Panko Herb Encrusted Chicken

Panko.

Herb.

Chicken.

‘Nuff said, right?

Well, not really, if you actually want to make it. You may need a recipe too.

Recently, I found a website called Food Gawker, and yes, I gawked. It’s the easiest layout to follow, and the pictures are literally vivid enough to make you drool. It reminds me of Pinterest, but just for food.

Well, Food Gawker is to thank for this chicken recipe. It was on the list of “most favorited all time” recipes, and rightfully so.

Except, I did it wrong. The recipe listed on the site is for “Parmigiano Panko Herb Encrusted Chicken Breasts.” And I had everything sitting out: the chicken, panko, basil, s & p, parmigiano… Then I put everything together, threw the chicken into the pan and realized- I forgot the parmigiano. I forgot the parmigiano in parmigiano/herb chicken…

Duh.

The funny thing? It turned out SO good that I decided I didn’t want to add it in next time…but the cheese loving hubs says I have to. So, as it stands right now, I cannot tell you how delish the Parmigiano Herb Encrusted CB’s are, but the ones minus the parm are SO yummy! Also, of course I only made a recipe about 1/4 the size of this one, and I used veg oil instead of olive, bc olive oil is too pricey for frying! 

Hope you enjoy 🙂

If you try them with parm before me, let me know what you think!

Parmigiano Panko Herb Encrusted Chicken Breasts

What you’ll need:
4-6 chicken breasts (enough for your family)
olive oil
panko flakes – enough for breading
1 1/2 cups Parmigiano Reggiano – grated
2 tablespoons dried basil
salt/pepper

What to do:
1. Trim your chicken breasts of any excess fat. Take a piece of plastic wrap and cover your chicken breasts. Pound them out with a mallet until they’re about 1/4″ thick.

2. In a large deep sided pan (I used my chicken fryer) over medium-high heat, put enough olive oil to pan fry your chicken breasts.

3. WHILE your oil is heating, place panko flakes into a pie dish (or another dish large enough to bread your chicken). Add Parmigiano, basil and season with salt and pepper. Mix together with a fork. Press chicken breasts into Panko mixture, breading chicken on both sides. Continue until all chicken is breaded.

4. Place breaded chicken breasts into hot oil and fry until golden brown on both sides. Turning as necessary. Careful not to crowd the pan (do batches if necessary) Roughly 3 minutes per side depending on the thickness of chicken. Allow chicken breasts to rest before serving.

Photo & Recipe from: Bell Alimento

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

