For My Teacher Friends

I will definitely be labeled after this post. Some of the options I am anticipating are:

-Geek

-Nerd

-Loser

-A person who was just meant to be a teacher, because who else would try and see how many possible options can be created from trash…

 I’ll let you decide!

Here’s the deal. I have had tissues next to the bed for like 3 weeks now because I have been blowing my nose like a crazy woman…sinuses be cleared! Well, last night, I had this cup by the bed with some water in it for those late night thirst attacks:

 Just the average, run o’ the mill, plastic cup.

I reached for a kleenex, pulled it out, and noticed it was the last one in the box. Which left me with this:

Then in a classic teacher “lightbulb” moment, for whatever reason…I guess the gears just work this way in my brain…I immediately picked up my cup and stuck it straight into the opening of the kleenex box.

(A cute little box isn’t it? I believe these are the Lowe’s Foods brand of kleenex.)

And the brainstorming began…

Of course it would make an adorable pencil holder for the student’s desks. If you have your students grouped by 4’s, 4 different tissue boxes in the center of the desk grouping would be so cute and colorful. Also, the tissue boxes are much more sturdy than just a cup or pencil holder.)

-It would also make a DARLING flower pot for a Mother’s Day gift. Then the plant could be easily transferred without much mess.

-If you use tokens or some other manipulative as a reward system at each student’s desk, you could drop them easily into the cup (ie- good behavior earns tokens, count the tokens at the end of the day to work towards a specific reward.)

The ideas just kept coming!

Listen, I am not claiming to be the first person to think of this. I bet if I googled it, I could have found a million ideas similar to this one. But who thinks to google “Kleenex Box & Cup Recycling Ideas.” Not me. I’m not THAT MUCH of the teacher type 🙂 Also, I know you can buy all sorts of pretty baskets, pencil holders, and organizers. But if you’re really a teacher, you know that money is tight, and recycling things always helps!

Now if you think of some awesome way to use this, let me know! I won’t take the credit, but I may steal your idea. 🙂

Happy Thursday my Teacher Friends. Tomorrow is Friday 🙂

2 comments on “For My Teacher Friends

Leave a Reply

