Sacrifice

Last Friday, I saw a brochure for a program called “Mom Life Boot Camp.” It was a 3-day Mom conference meant to refresh & challenge mothers in day-to-day life. I was smitten…what Mom doesn’t think that a getaway sounds good every now and then? BUT, the conference was $120 + plane tickets, which isn’t do-able.

Little did I know that I didn’t need that conference- yesterday at church was my “Mom Life Boot Camp.” Surprise!

Yesterday morning was not my “turn” to be in the nursery. These days that sometimes feels rare, you know, to actually NOT be in the nursery… But E would have nothing to do with the nursery. So, I tried sitting in there with him and letting him play- he cried and just wanted to sit on my lap.  So, I tried taking him into the service just to sit on my lap- he did well at first, but is just at the age where be makes too many little noises. So, we went outside and walked around- until I realized that the children’s church kids were meeting at the picnic tables, and I didn’t want to distract them. So, after many attempts at otherwise entertaining my fussy boy…

We went back to the nursery.

But it was totally meant to be. Our pastor’s wife and daughters were keeping the nursery yesterday morning. As E & I got settled back in, we got to talking. She mentioned something that she had heard recently that had challenged her, and it hit me square between the eyes. She said that she heard a pastor (I think?) say that most young women who are getting married these days are completely unprepared for the life of sacrifice that is motherhood. A mother in most cases sacrifices her body, her private time, her job, and the list goes on.

Most days I love to cook, clean, change diapers, do laundry, etc… But some days- especially the days when I am sick, the baby is cranky & the house is just screaming at me- sometimes, I know it’s shocking, but I get a little frazzled.

Sometimes the sacrifice is hard.

Sometimes, try not to judge me, I get tired of sitting in the nursery.

Anyway, after that morning, when we got home from lunch, I was ready for a nap. E always goes down for his nap when we get home from lunch. So I rocked him, put him down, and went straight for my bed. I closed the curtains, and pulled the cool covers up to my chin. Ahh, bliss.

And every light on the baby monitor turned red. Every single one.

So, I moped a little bit, and hoped he’d go back to sleep.

He didn’t.  

I went and got a big blanket, went to E’s room, picked him up, and snuggled up wth him in the recliner in his room.

As I watched him sleep on my chest, listened to his breathing, watched him  suck his thumb, listened to the little sleep noises he makes, suddenly the tears came.

All of the sacrifice, all of the things lost are just that- THINGS. Things that are temporal, things that will not last. But that little life, the little bundle sleeping in my arms, he is so much more. He is a life, a soul with which I have been entrusted.  What sacrifice could possibly be too great?

Ok, long story short- last night at church the movie “Courageous” was shown. Hello! I told you it was boot-camp. If you haven’t seen it, watch it- whether you are married or not, a parent or not, a believer or not- it will challenge you.

The main character ends the movie with a speech on how he will CHOOSE to be courageous and lead his wife and children. He will CHOOSE to remember that his children have souls that are eternal. He will CHOOSE to bless his children and show them the Lord’s love. And so much more!

 I suppose the movie was intended for fathers, but yesterday the Lord meant it for me…

“As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

It’s a choice. It’s a sacrifice. It is well worth it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

