To Be or Not To Be Taller? That is the Question.

The other day, I was watching TV and I happened upon a show where a couple was preparing to go out on a date. The girl was a very tall model and the guy was an average height, regular Joe (unlike my Uncle Joe, who is 6’7″…but that’s beside the point.)   

The girl was teased by another fella in the room who rudely said, “Look at those heels! Don’t you feel self-conscious being taller than your date??”

The model & regular Joe looked at each other, laughed, and said,” No! That whole dude being taller thing is so 80’s!”

Wow. I wish I was that cool.

I love being tall, and don’t want to be short…That being said, I have always felt self-conscious when I am around men who are much shorter than me. I don’t know if it is so much my discomfort, or my pity for them.

Either way, I do not like to look taller than my husband. He is 2 inches taller than me, which is just right for flat shoes. Not heels. I gave up heels in exchange for the love of my life (side note: I accidentally just typed “lobe” which is really funny to me -the lobe of my life-I hope I’m not the only one who thinks that’s funny.) And it was a worthy exchange- but sometimes I miss those shoes that are boxed up- my tall brown strappy wedges with the flower on them most of all.

But that’s not even the worst of it. This morning, I was watching “Mickey Mouse Clubhouse” with Elijah. When what to my wondering eyes did appear… to borrow a line… but a Minnie Mouse who was TALLER than Mickey Mouse. Now granted, it was because of the heels- those beautiful, snazzy pink heels, but still, she was looking as confident as ever!

So the question is: is the whole dude being taller thing really “so 80’s?”

Because if Minnie Mouse can rock heels, I think I should be able to. 🙂

5 comments on “To Be or Not To Be Taller? That is the Question.

  1. Taylor Whitley says:

    Just tell Nate to wear platform shoes! That should solve all problems!

  2. I’m enjoying your blog, Heidi. Jon is about two and a half centimeters taller than me, so I believe I can relate. I wear the heels with him occasionally, and if people say something I remind them that heels do make a person taller. On the other hand, there is just something about having to look down at my husband that I don’t like…

    • Heidi says:

      Thanks, Adrianne! I am enjoying yours 🙂 It’s funny how it doesn’t bother me to look at another couple like you and Jon who are close in height, yet somehow I can be so self-conscious about my own height…miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

