New Year, Same Old Outlook

Each month at work, I try to put up a new quote on the bulletin board outside the library. Something inspirational about books and reading- I know- I’m lame. But I LOVE to read, and I hope that maybe I can help a few of the students who come into the library learn to LOVE reading… Give me a break will you, I’m hopeless. 🙂 

Anywho, as I was searching for a good New Year/New Book quote, I came across some interesting quotes. They were very telling of their speakers…with each quote, I attached a face in my mind.

1-You could almost see the eager, excited person who zealously makes new resolutions every year, persuaded yet again that he/she WILL keep them this time, because, “well, because…It’s different this time!” Evidently Ben Franklin was one of these kind:

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man.  ~Benjamin Franklin

See what I mean? No one is getting that man down. Oh no, he will be a better person next year- if it’s the LAST thing he does!

2- Then there is the cautious optimist. The person who really does want to change- I mean REALLY. They’ve been down that road before though, and they know it’s a dead end. They have a look of frustrated determination as they say, “It’ll probably end just like it did last time, but I’ll try anyway…”

It wouldn’t be New Year’s if I didn’t have regrets.  ~William Thomas

Poor guy, can’t you just hear him telling his friend how his resolutions from last year didn’t work, but by golly- this year he’ll try again. Then there’s Oprah Winfrey who acknowledges that something wasn’t quite right about this year, but there’s always next year:

“Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.”

3- Oh but that’s not all…the last category is the most populous… I must admit that I fall into this category most of the time. The group of people that, with a roll of the eyes, say “What’s so different about January 1 anyway?” “Why make a resolution- I won’t keep it anyway.” In fact I have no idea why I am in this category… I’m a hopeless romantic, I stand up for underdogs and try to believe that there is good somewhere in everyone… but New Year’s Resolutions are not my friend. I am quite sure that I have never kept one for an entire year. Seriously. That’s pathetic. But I am not alone- oh no, there are lots of us. I’ll prove it:

 New Year’s Day:  Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions.  Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.  ~Mark Twain (yikes!)

Good resolutions are simply checks that men draw on a bank where they have no account.  ~Oscar Wilde

May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions.            ~Joey Adams (ha!)

He who breaks a resolution is a weakling;
He who makes one is a fool.
~F.M. Knowles

I made no resolutions for the New Year.  The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.  ~Anaïs Nin

A New Year’s resolution is something that goes in one year and out the other.  ~Author Unknown

See? I told you. There are lots of resolution unbelievers- lots of pessimists. I am trying again though…so maybe I’m more of the cautious optimist?! I dunno… I guess I still have a day to decide if it’s worth it or not 🙂

What about you? You giving it a go again or is the only resolution you’ll ever make like this one:

Many years ago I resolved never to bother with New Year’s resolutions, and I’ve stuck with it ever since. ~Dave Beard

Either way, a New Year is coming. 365 fresh, unwritten days. Whether you resolve right now to make them different, or hope that they’re just as good as the last 365 is up to you.

P.S.- Wondering what quote I chose for the library? I know it was just nagging away you at 🙂

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.  ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

 

2 comments on “New Year, Same Old Outlook

  1. Megan says:

    What about, “The new year lies before you like freshly driven snow. Be careful how you tread it, for every mark will show.”

Leave a Reply

