Tonight…

Tonight,

I played with Elijah a little longer…

We took a little longer brushing his teeth and giggling…

I rubbed his sweet little head a little longer…

At bedtime, I rocked him a little longer…

Because Tomorrow,

Tomorrow will be the first time that both his Daddy and I will be away from him at bedtime. He doesn’t know it yet… at least I don’t think he does. I tried to tell him, but he just smiled at me and ran off to shoot his basketball.

Don’t get me wrong, I am more than ready to go out to eat with Nathan alone, to let someone else carry the diaper bag for a night… to sleep in in the morning, and use the bathroom without a little person watching me 🙂

But I’ll be honest- I’m sad. I love that little boy more than life itself. Yes, I know he’ll be fine and probably won’t even notice a difference… but tonight, tonight I am a little teary-eyed.

And I think it’s ok. I’m telling myself it just means I love him- a lot.

 

This entry was posted in Family.

4 comments on “Tonight…

  1. Megan Mattinson says:

    Eric wants to know if that’s an earring in E’s ear. haha!

  2. Merri Holmes says:

    I know EXACTLY how you feel and it’s OK. You will be an even better mommy when you come back the next day! Rested and refreshed and ready to go again. I felt that way every time I left one of you girls……and I think you all lived to tell about it! 🙂 Have a grand time!!!

Leave a Reply

