“Oh My Jesus, Sleep Tight”

This Christmas, I discovered a song. I am not sure how long it’s been around… but it’s new to me! It is called “Joseph’s Lullaby” and is by Mercy Me:

“Go to sleep my Son
This manger for your bed
You have a long road before You
Rest Your little head

Can You feel the weight of Your glory?
Do You understand the price?
Or does the Father guard Your heart for now
So You can sleep tonight?

Go to sleep my Son
Go and chase Your dreams
This world can wait for one more moment
Go and sleep in peace

I believe the glory of Heaven
Is lying in my arms tonight
Lord, I ask that He for just this moment
Simply be my child

Go to sleep my Son
Baby, close Your eyes
Soon enough You’ll save the day
But for now, dear Child of mine
Oh my Jesus, Sleep tight”

 

I cannot even fathom the inner struggle that Mary & Joseph experienced at Christ’s birth. Mary, who had just labored in a dirty animal stall to birth this baby…Joseph, who had walked mile upon mile carefully watching for the safety of his wife who was pregnant with a child who he knew was not his own & had no doubt held Mary’s hand throughout the whole birth, willing her strength.

Yet ultimately, this child was not their own.

This child had a greater purpose… That must have been scary. I mean, you have to know that if God Himself is the Father of your child that something big is in this baby’s future. But then again, holding that little baby, snuggling him up against your breast, whispering to him, kissing his sweet baby cheeks… It might have been easy to forget that he was anyone’s but your own.

But He came for all of us. That baby grew up, and to the aching despair of his mother’s heart, he fulfilled his destiny. He died on the cross so that one day we might accept His salvation and live with Him forever.

THAT is the message of Christmas. The all-knowing Babe, lying in a manger, came. He lived, He died and He rose again.

Merry Christmas Eve! 

One comment on ““Oh My Jesus, Sleep Tight”

  1. Merri Holmes says:

    I loved reading your thoughts on this most special of ALL events!!! It has blessed my heart! Merry Christmas Eve to you too!

    Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

