We’re Moving…

…to the Low Country.

Not really. It’s just been a Cajun kinda weekend. I’ve got New Orleans boiling in my blood right now- it’s rather tasty- don’t get me wrong, I didn’t taste my blood… but seriously, it might as well be Mardi Gras up in here… (honestly, I know nothing about Mardi Gras, so don’t judge me!)

Last night, I went to my hometown to watch my husband coach at a school in the area. My parents met us there, and took Baby E & myself out for a quick dinner at Bojangles. I ordered a Cajun Filet Biscuit- thus embarking on my Mardi Gras journey.

Then today, the hubs and I tried a new recipe for lunch. Courtesy of Paula Deen, the celebration continued. We made her “Low Country Boil.” Shrimp, Smoked Sausage, Corn on the Cob, & New Potatoes boiled in Old Bay seasoned water…It was DELICIOUS!

It all turned out so wonderfully…

First you fill a large pot with enough water to cover all of your ingredients & boil the smoked sausage in the Old Bay for about 20 minutes so that the water is well-seasoned. Then add the potatoes, and boil for another 15 minutes. Next in is the corn- boiled for about 10 minutes. Last in is the shrimp, shell on, which only takes about 3 minutes. Drain immediately & E-N-J-O-Y.

The following is a similar recipe. The only difference being that this recipe calls for “Crab Boil,” but the version we used called for Old Bay- 1/4 cup per large pot, adjusted to your tastes. 

http://www.pauladeen.com/recipes/recipe_view/low_country_boil/

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

