Oh Baby!

In 2005 I met a wonderful man who had one glaring flaw: He didn’t “like” chocolate. Tell me, how could I fall in love with a man who didn’t love chocolate? Would we ever truly be compatible? There was only one thing to do…convert him! And yes, I realize chocolate-loving is not a religion, but honestly, it is pretty serious around here.

So slowly but surely, I walked Mr. “I only eat chocolate when the package says Reese’s Cup” into the world of chocolate loving. It was a long, sometimes painful process, but I am pleased to say that he now even ASKS me to make desserts with chocolate in them….it’s a beautiful thing!

However, the other day I was reading some archived articles on one of my fav blogs, www.eatliverun.com, and I came across an article entitled  “Oh Baby.” Seriously, who doesn’t want to read an article about a recipe entitled “Oh Baby.” So I clicked…. Now, Jenna the fab blogger at EatLiveRun is seriously the healthy foodie I dream of being, but cannot seem to embrace fully. Therefore, the skeptic in me said, “The recipe probably has tofu and flax seed in it…don’t go too crazy!”

But Oh Baby, was I ever wrong! Jenna returned to her roots for this one- and, for lack of a more fitting exclamation, OH BABY are they ever good! And this recipe required no stove, no oven, no mixer…only some elbow grease & a microwave!

I changed only one thing from the original recipe- I used all semi-sweet chocolate because I am a semi-sweet kinda girl…no milk chocolate around here! And I am pleased to say that the hubs is crazy about these! Almost a nod to his original chocolate love- the Reese’s Cup- but waaaay better if you ask me! Allow me to introduce you to Jenna’s “Oh Baby Bars.”

Oh Baby Bars

makes about 48 small bars

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 1/3 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

7 ounces milk chocolate

4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

1 T butter

Blend together the brown sugar, powdered sugar, butter and peanut butter until it reaches a smooth paste-like consistency. Press into the bottom of a nine by thirteen inch pan.

Melt the chocolate with the tablespoon of butter over very low heat (or in a microwave). Pour melted chocolate over the peanut butter crust and stick in the fridge for an hour to harden.

Cut into squares and serve!

 

Leave a Reply

