Kitchen Love

Two and a half years ago, we moved into our humble abode. We love this little home. Humble it is, but it is very much home. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room, dining room/kitchen, garage & beautiful, serene yard…that about sums it up.

However, we do not own this home- it is a rental, of sorts (but that’s a post for another day.) That being said, I fight the constant battle of “not spending too much on stuff that’ll one day be left behind for another family to enjoy courtesy of my wallet…” (you’re familiar with that inner monologue, right? It’s not just me, is it?)

So…Slowly but surely, I have been re-making each room to suit my tastes, and trying to do so without over-spending. In fact, without spending at all, if possible! The latest tackle of mine is our dining room, ok, ok, I know…it’s just a glorified eat- in kitchen. Here is a very dark & messy before shot of the wallpaper about to meet it’s doom.

Kitchen Before

"Dining Room" Before

I started out with the goal in mind that this was going to be a totally free re-do.

Here’s how:

-I own a wallpaper steamer & all the accessories (scoring tool, scrapers, etc.) to remove the wallpaper 

-I wanted the same neutral, warm color that I used in Baby E’s nursery, which was perfect since we had leftover paint!

-All of the accessories that I already had on display in my dining room (as if in perpetual denial of the wallpaper’s presence) were a matching color scheme. I even owned the curtains that I wanted to use courtesy of the fact that our first home had 4 bedrooms (which equals WAY more curtains…kind of a “womp, womp” sort of sad thought, huh? Note to you: never start out your marriage in a 4 bedroom house- you will inevitably be forced to downgrade!)

So- I did it, with MUCH help from the wonderful husband & my wallpaper ripping older sister, of course. We ripped the paper, painted multiple layers of paint, and, wait for it… ended up spending some money. I know, bummer, right?

Turns out that the ever frugal hubs did not, in fact, want me to spray paint the curtain rod that was already in the home- it was gold and didn’t match- he wanted me to leave that in case the owners ever wanted to re-install it. Also, the paint I had leftover was not QUITE enough. So here’s the breakdown:

-Quart of Paint: $13.48 (Lowe’s)

-Bronze Curtain Rod: $27.88 (Wal-Mart) 

-Total: $41.36

Cost of having a dining room, I  mean eat-in kitchen, that makes you feel warm, accomplished, satisfied & proud= Priceless.

Too cheesy? Ok… in short, I love it! Here’s a dark, after shot. Albeit, some accessories & finishing touches await, but I just couldn’t wait to photograph it!

Kitchen After

This entry was posted in Home.

Leave a Reply

